Eugene H. Spafford, Ph.D., D.Sc.

Professor, and CERIAS Executive Director Emeritus
Purdue University

http://about.me/spaf

DoD and DoE clearance info available on request



EDUCATION

- > Ph.D. Information and Computer Sciences, Georgia Institute of Technology, 1986
- > M.S. Information and Computer Sciences, Georgia Institute of Technology, 1981
- > B.A. summa cum laude, Mathematics and Computer Science (double major), SUNY at Brockport, 1979

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE

- ➤ 2018–2019 Visiting Fellow, Sandia National Laboratories
- 2018–2019 Visiting Senior Scientist, National Security Agency
- > 2016- PRESENT Executive Director Emeritus, CERIAS, Purdue University
- > 2000 PRESENT Head, Interdisciplinary Information Security Graduate Program
- > 1997 PRESENT Professor of Computer Sciences, Purdue University
- ➤ 2013- PRESENT Professor of Political Science (courtesy appointment), Purdue University
- 2003-PRESENT Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (courtesy appointment; joint appointment 2004–2007), Purdue University
- > 2003 PRESENT Professor of Communication (courtesy appointment), Purdue University
- > 2000 Present Professor of Philosophy (courtesy appointment), Purdue University
- > 1998–2016 Director/Executive Director, CERIAS, Purdue University
- > 2003–2004 Senior Advisor to the Office of the Assistant Director, CISE, National Science Foundation
- ➤ 1998–2001 Chief Information Systems Security Officer, Purdue University
- > 1993–1997 Associate Professor of Computer Sciences, Purdue University
- > 1987-1993 Assistant Professor of Computer Sciences, Purdue University

SELECTED ACTIVITIES

Government Advisory Roles

- Air Force Scientific Advisory Board
- US Naval Academy Center for Cyber Studies (PRESENT)
- NSA Scientific Advisor (PRESENT)
- Air University Board of Visitors
- NSF CISE Advisory Board
- FBI Regional Cybercrime Forensic Laboratory Advisory Board
- President's Information Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC)
- GAO ECMIT Advisory Board
- U.S. Government Infosec Research Council
- US SPACECOM Science Advisory Group
- Strategic Vision 2025 Advisor to the Chief Scientist, USAF
- Los Alamos National Laboratories CCN Division Review Committee
- Sandia National Laboratories, National Security Advisory Board (PRESENT)

Other Boards and Advisory Positions

- ACM Publications Ethics & Plagiarism committee (chair) (**PRESENT**)
- ACM U.S. Public Policy Council (immediate past chair) (PRESENT)
- ACM Council Member-at-Large
- Elsevier journal Computers & Security (Editor-in-Chief) (PRESENT)
- NRC/CSTB Committee: Depicting Innovation in Information Technology (chair)
- IFIP Technical Committee 11 on Information Security (former subchair & member) (PRESENT)
- FIRST (Forum of Incident Response and Security Teams) Steering Committee
- External IT Research Review Panel for MITRE Board of Directors
- Microsoft's Trustworthy Computing Academic Advisory Board
- Intel Corporation Security & Privacy Advisory Board
- Unisys Security Leadership Institute
- Computing Research Association (CRA) Board of Directors
- Tripwire Technical Advisory Board (chair)
- IBM Emergency Response Service Board of Technical Advisors

SELECTED HONORS AND AWARDS

- ≥ 2020 Elected as a *Fellow* of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences §
- ➤ 2020 IEEE Security & Privacy Test of Time Award
- ➤ 2018 ISE Luminary Leadership Award Recipient *
- > 2016 Named as a Sagamore of the Wabash (Indiana's highest civilian honor)
- > 2016 IFIP TC-11 Kristian Beckman Award *
- 2013 Inducted into the Cyber Security Hall of Fame *
- ➤ 2013 (ISC)² Harold F. Tipton Lifetime Achievement Award *
- > 2012 Purdue University Morrill Professor Award (highest award for faculty)
- ➤ 2011 SANS Lifetime Achievement Award *
- > 2009 Inducted as a ISSA (Information Systems Security Association) Distinguished Fellow §
- > 2009 Computing Research Association Distinguished Service Award
- ➤ 2009 UPE ABACUS Award
- ➤ 2008 Inducted as a *Fellow* of the (ISC)² §
- > 2007 ACM President's Award
- > 2006 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award
- ≥ 2006 Joseph J. Wasserman Award of the ISACA New York Metropolitan Chapter *
- > 2006 ACM SIGSAC Outstanding Contribution Award
- ≥ 2005 Honorary D.Sc. degree from SUNY, awarded at the College at Brockport
- ➤ 2004 IEEE Computer Society's Taylor L. Booth Award
- > 2004 ACM SIGCAS Making a Difference Award
- ➤ 2003 Named to Purdue University's Book of Great Teachers †
- ➤ 2003 U.S. Air Force medal for Meritorious Civilian Service
- ➤ 2001 Purdue University *Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in Memory of Charles B. Murphy* (top university award for teaching) †
- ➤ 2001 Founder's Medal of the National Colloquium for Information Systems Security Education
- ➤ 2001 Named to the ISSA (Information Systems Security Association) Hall of Fame *
- > 2001 Named a Fellow of Purdue University's Teaching Academy †
- > 2000 NIST/NCSC National Computer Systems Security Award *
- ➤ 2000 Inducted as a Fellow of the IEEE §
- ➤ 1999 Inducted as a Fellow of the AAAS §
- ➤ 1997 Inducted as a Fellow of the ACM §

^{* -} Only person to ever receive all of these highest recognitions in the field of cybersecurity.

^{§ -} Only person ever to be named as a Fellow of all six organizations.

^{† -} One of only two people to receive all of the highest awards at Purdue for teaching.